The Schauinsland cable car as a technical monument

The Schauinsland cable car as a technical monument

For the first time worldwide, the constructors of the Schauinsland cable car applied the loop system in a passenger cable car that provided for the continuous run of the gondolas. This way, as many cabins as desired could be attached to the circulating cable. Originally, there were 10 cabins with a conductor, 8 of which could be moved at the same time. During the reconstruction of the installation in 1988, the cable car was equipped with 37 slightly smaller gondolas that no longer require a conductor.

The design was aligned to the original cabins. Today, the Schauinsland cable car is the longest loop cable car in Germany. It is 3,600m long and overcomes a difference in altitude of 764m.

Border

Heritage Day

 

Once a year, the , the Baden-Württemberg Foundation for Monuments Denkmalstiftung Baden-Württemberg organizes the much appreciated “Heritage Day”, with varying leading themes. Many cultural monuments are accessible to the public during this day and thus demonstrate the diversity and the particularity of our region. The Schauinsland cable car also participates every year in this event, as a technical historical monument, through many actions. You can find the date and programme beforehand under Dates / Events.

Border

The first loop cable car in the world

 

The special value of the cable car lies in its significance in terms of technological history as the first loop cable car in the world for passenger transport. This system served as a model for all other modern systems with small gondolas. Until today, the constructions of the upper, middle (clamping) and lower station, posts and historic building elements which were preserved in the reconstruction demonstrate, to a large extent, the cable car construction form according to the loop system, current around 1930. The positive state in which the original condition has been maintained emphasises and raises the value of the cable car as a source of technological history. This is in addition to the design value of the installation and construction details. The task of combining a functionally designed engineering construction like a cable car with an architecture that fits smoothly into the landscape was excellently solved.

 

Reasons tied to regional history

For many decades, the Schauinsland cable car was deeply rooted in the consciousness of the population; this is evident through the efforts made to conserve the cable car in the 1980s and through numerous press articles and publications.

 

A worthy monument

The public interest in preserving the Schauinsland cable car is based on the documentary value of the installation in terms of serving as an example for research on cable cars based on the loop system, from the point of view of technology and history. As the first passenger cable car worldwide that was planned and built according to this system in the first thirds of the 20th century, the Schauinsland cable car also combines scarcity and age value.

 

The public interest in conserving the cable car is based on the originality and integrity of the architecture and equipment as well as on its documentary value, also in terms of serving as an example for transport constructions. The individual parts of the Schauinsland cable car like the upper, middle, and lower station as well as the 7 steel posts form a single entity.

Die Schauinslandbahn – ein technisches Denkmal

Die Schauinslandbahn – ein technisches Denkmal

Zum ersten Mal weltweit wurde mit dem Bau der Schauinslandbahn bei einer Personenseilbahn das Umlaufprinzip konzipiert, das einen kontinuierlichen Lauf der Gondeln ermöglicht. Auf dem umlaufenden Seil konnten erstmals beliebig viele Kabinen angebracht werden. Ursprünglich waren 10 mit je einem Schaffner besetzte Kabinen vorhanden, von denen bis zu 8 gleichzeitig in Bewegung waren. Seit dem Umbau der Anlage 1988 ist die Bahn mit 37 etwas kleineren schaffnerlosen Kabinen ausgestattet. Sie wurden aus Denkmalschutz-Gründen gestalterisch den ursprünglichen Kabinen nachempfunden.

Bis heute ist die Schauinslandbahn die längste nach dem Umlaufprinzip konzipierte Seilbahn in Deutschland. Ihre Länge beträgt 3600 m, wobei sie einen Höhenunterschied von 764 m überwindet.

Border

Tag des offenen Denkmals

 

Die Denkmalstiftung Baden-Württemberg veranstaltet einmal pro Jahr unter wechselndem Motto den beliebten „Tag des offenen Denkmals“. Zahlreiche Kulturdenkmäler sind an diesem Tag der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich und zeugen von der Vielfalt und Besonderheit unserer Region. Auch die Schauinslandbahn als technisches Denkmal beteiligt sich jährlich mit zahlreichen Aktionen an diesem Tag. Termin und Programm finden Sie jeweils rechtzeitig vorher unter Termine/Events.

Border

Die erste Umlaufseilbahn weltweit

 

Die Besonderheit der Bahn liegt in ihrer technikgeschichtlichen Bedeutung als erster Seilbahn der Welt für Personenbeförderung, die nach dem Umlaufsystem ausgeführt wurde. Dieses System ist für alle modernen Kleingondelsysteme vorbildhaft geworden. Die Bauten der Berg-, Mittel-, Spann- und Talstation, die Stützen und die nach dem Umbau erhalten gebliebenen Teile der bauzeitlichen Technik zeigen bis heute weitgehend die Bauweise einer Seilbahn der Zeit um 1930 nach dem Umlaufprinzip. Durch die gute Erhaltung des originalen Zustandes wird der Wert als technikgeschichtliche Quelle unterstrichen und gesteigert. Hinzu kommt der gestalterische Wert der baulichen Anlagen und ihrer Bau-Details im Einzelnen. Vorzüglich gelöst ist die Aufgabe, eine funktional durchgestaltete Ingenieurskonstruktion wie eine Seilbahn mit einer sich in die Landschaft einfügenden Architektur zu verbinden.

 

Heimatgeschichtliche Gründe

Die Schauinslandbahn ist seit vielen Jahrzehnten im Bewusstsein der Bevölkerung tief verwurzelt, was sich unter anderem in den Bemühungen zum Erhalt der Bahn in den 80er Jahren und in zahlreichen Presseberichten und Publikationen äußert.

 

Denkmalwürdigkeit

Das öffentliche Interesse am Erhalt der Schauinslandbahn beruht auf dem dokumentarischen und exemplarischen Wert der Anlage für die technikgeschichtliche Erforschung von Seilbahnen nach dem Umlaufprinzip. Als weltweit erste Personenseilbahn, die nach diesem System im ersten Drittel des 20. Jahrhunderts geplant und gebaut wurde, kommt der Schauinslandbahn auch Seltenheits- und Alterswert zu.

 

Das öffentliche Interesse am Erhalt begründet sich darüber hinaus in der Originalität und Integrität der Architektur und ihrer Ausstattung sowie dem dokumentarischen und exemplarischen Wert für die Beschäftigung mit Verkehrsbauten. Die einzelnen Bestandteile der Schauinslandbahn wie Berg-, Mittel- und Talstation sowie die 7 Stahlmasten bilden eine Sachgesamtheit.